Goodbye Jesus

A Story From When I Worked As A Zoo Keeper.

dd5

A long long time ago in a zoo far far away I was the zoo keeper for the bug exhibit. Bugs you see are very interesting animals as the older and more privative they are the more complex their husbandry can get. How you may ask?

Well lets have a look at giant centipedes, pretty animals that can be extremely powerful, but poorly adapted to life on land. They still have the respiratory system that served them well in the ancient oceans and have barely modified themselves since. The system is a thin tube that runs along the thin body and because it's so thin distributes oxygen around the body without any lungs. Insects have a similar system but insects can close off the openings to the tube. The problem is that although this may have worked underwater quite well it drys them out on land, as such centipedes need constant moisture around their bodies or they dry and die. Same thing with larger spiders that have larger book lungs that will dry out very quickly if the humidity isn't right. Sounds like easy information to pass on to customers during a presentation right?

Well I was giving the usual presentation on centipedes and explaining how easily they die from humidity problems due to their privative respiratory system not being able to maintain moisture. Suddenly a man in the audience with his family, big burly guy with one of those scruffy beards abruptly says "That's because god never ment for those damn things to leave the rain forest, ain't no evolution in that". I pause and simply say thats a good observation sir but they're found in the desert here as well, silently he gets up and takes his kids.