Goodbye Jesus

How Do I Tell Family And Friends?

Guest Court Jester

Guest Court Jester

Hey guys-

In the past few months I've completed my deconversion and it is suuuuuuuuuch a relief. But my unfortunately Christian family doesn't know about all this...I go to school in another state and right now even I'm studying abroad, so they can't really keep track of my church attendance very well. I really want to tell them, but I feel so bad for the burden I'm gonna put on them....I mean, your daughter's eternal soul forever burning in Hell is quite the lofty worry. How and when did you all tell your families? Any suggestions?

Each situation is different and a lot depends on how you predict your family would/could react. Expect the best and prepare for the worst, I guess.

I wouldn't do it until you know you're going to be put on the spot soon and then I would try to do it in person and one or two people at a time. Just being gentle.

The way you do it all depends on your relationship with them, how deep are they into Christianity (liberal, or full fundamentalists?), if you are still financially dependent on them, etc. It might help reading how others have handled it, and what they experienced; here's a thread on the subject from the Testimonies of Former Christians forum. Breaking the Bad News

how deep are they into Christianity (liberal, or full fundamentalists?)

This is probobly the biggest factor you should take in. If you belong to a family full of xians who MUST go to church every sunday, pray all the time, Deny any scientific theories that dont agree with their dogma, and attempt to evvangelize...you should probobly wait a while if you ever tell them.

If they simply believe in god and call themselves christian, and only attend church every now and then... just tell them immediatly. You have nothing to fear.

How and when did you all tell your families?

I haven't yet.