Goodbye Jesus

A Former Christian Minister Turned Atheist

JamesDHampton

Hello Everyone!  My pen name is James D. Hampton. I am a former Christian turned atheist with a degree in biblical studies who worked in ministry for over 15 years before deconverting from Christianity in 2022. As of now, I am anonymous to the public. Only my wife and a few close friends know. But I started a blog under my pen name just this year. If you're interested, it is www.ExaminingChristianity.com 

I always had a love for studying the Bible, but the more I studied when I was a Christian, the more I began to see problems that started to undermine what I had always believed.

I was trained in apologetics, and while these answers often pacified young Christians just needing to know how they could respond to their skeptic friends in a social media debate, I came to realize that the simplistic and often shallow answers were not sufficient in addressing and engaging serious questions and inconsistencies. So I decided to strengthen my faith by doubling down on my studies and prayer life.

Over multiple years, I read close to 400 books and hundreds of peer-reviewed articles with the specific aim of keeping my faith. I spoke with dozens of Christian friends, pastors, colleagues, professors, and scholars.

In addition to reading the Bible, I researched multiple fields of study while praying something would help my faith. I studied textual criticism, philosophy, early church history, social anthropology, human psychology, neuroscience, archeology, human biology, comparative religious studies, ancient Near Eastern religions, cultures of the current and ancient world, ancient genres in which the Bible was written, and so much more hoping to find something, even a thread, I could hold on to. Yet, all these fields led me to one conclusion: There is no good evidence for the supernatural, including “God” or gods.