Goodbye Jesus

Hi, I'm new + my antimony

pandora

Hi all-- I am a pharmacy student in Indianapolis, Indiana. I am also a religious studies major. Most of you on here are excellent writers, please forgive me as my talent is science, not writing. :)

I was raised Catholic. Was evangelized by my middle school and high school friends, so I became a Protestant. I then went to college, and took religion, philosophy, and political science classes to make my somewhat tedious major more interesting.

I should say that my parents were very liberal, my father being an agnostic and my mother just a plain spiritualist, but she was raised Catholic and thought that would be a good/easy way to instill some values. LOL They never hindered any quest for god I chose to go on as a child or teenager, even when I was in some pretty wacky fundie churches. I was never into the whole "right belief" idea, so I naturally was a skeptic and a doubting Thomas. Even though I was a pretty involved and devoted Christian, I hated it when Christians were intolerant of other religions or other people. Evangelism wasn't something I was comfortable with, even though I made a few attempts at it myself when I was in high school. It isn't that I didn't think that Jesus was the only way, it is just that I didn't like how people went about evangelizing. Actually, more like proselytizing. It was such a guilt trip and mind game... I never won any converts, but I did meet my current husband at a Billy Graham Crusade. We were both evangelism counselers. (Neither of us are Christians now... funny, huh? )