Goodbye Jesus

The End Of Man

KT45

This is probably not what you think. No religious stuff. I was wondering your opinion about the end of man or the beginning of the next stage of human evolution.

I'm not really an expert in any genetics but I guess the next stage would literally be the end of man. An age where men don't exist and women produce asexually. I heard some reports about 2 years ago that the Y chromosome is shrinking. There is a chance it could disappear completely. This would mean the end of the male sex. heres a link from a 2005 article with more info if you need it http://www.cnn.com/2005/SHOWBIZ/books/11/1...sary/index.html

Here are some quotes

"There's a body of evidence now that the Y chromosome is rotting at such a fast rate that it will go out of business in about 100,000 years,"

The report also says that the Y chromosome is stablizing. Does this mean it will never disappear?

Also I read else where that with cloning women wouldn't even need men to reproduce. They've already done it with mice

http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/20...needsmales.html

Scientists led by Tomohiro Kono, a biologist at the Tokyo University of Agriculture, have created baby mice without the introduction of sperm. They combined the genetic contents of two mouse eggs—one of which had been genetically altered—to produce a live mouse that reached adulthood and reproduced.

For people more versed in science I have three questions.

If this did happen, humans producing asexually, would this even be considered evolution?

Is there a small chance of this happening in reality over the next 10 million years?

What is the next stage in evolutions for humans in your opinion?

Thanks for enlightening my ignorance :thanks:

I suppose that means that men are evolving into the perfect creatures...women.

Also I read else where that with cloning women wouldn't even need men to reproduce.