Goodbye Jesus

Purpose For Life

denaje

Hello all,

A little background about me. I am and have always been a Christian. I grew up somewhat fundamentalist, but I've since grown much more open-minded, have questioned everything about what I believe, and have concluded that a lot of my beliefs had no basis in rational thought or in the Bible. I am a scientist and a logical thinker. I value the truth above all else, and I will seek it out, whether it is manifest in God, some other deity, atheism, or something else entirely. I have recently taken my thought process to the brink of atheism in an attempt to rationalize what I know and what I believe about God, but there's a very important sticking point that keeps me on the Christian side of the fence, and I'd very much like to hear what you have to say about it, in an effort to expand my sense of reasoning and understand your point of view.

I would call myself agnostic about God (in that you can't know one way or another if he exists), and I believe that all logical reasoning and scientific evidence does not shine light on a divine creator or any supernatural being. I still choose to believe in God, though, because of the apparent futility of the alternative. The crux of the matter is this: if my life is temporary instead of eternal, what is the ultimate point in living or in doing good or in doing anything at all? Eventually, my body will die and I will cease to exist. Eventually, the memory of me will be forgotten as generations pass and information decays. Eventually, our sun will burn out and all life on this planet will die. Eventually, the entire universe will collapse in a "big crunch" or expand to the point that it is a homogenous mixture of matter and energy. Either way, nothing I think or do will have an ultimate impact on the fate of the universe. So why live?