Goodbye Jesus

Poem In Progress

jblueep

This is my first post. I really appreciate everyone in this forum for their honesty and thoughtfulness.

In a nutshell: I am questioning everything I have believed, but mostly I think coming to terms with everything I already knew or suspected all along.

As background information: I haven't just played church. I have taken it as truth and truly believed it almost my entire life. In fact, I am currently leading the two small groups/meetings in my church that have to most life in them. It's complicated to say the least wink.png

I'm not an artistic person by nature...mostly left brained...but here's an unfinished poem that wrote itself in a few minutes:

Through smoke and mirrors and rope a dope

I doubled down till I was broke

My willing mind would not retreat

I could not see my own deceit

Kept in check by analogies

From me to them and back to me

And metaphors that seemed to fit

And accolades from wit to wit

All that was good was counted for

All that was not was just ignored

But not from lies or ill intent

Just an effort to pay the rent

On what we all believed to be

The truth of what we could not see

When all we knew never revealed

itself to me, the deal was sealed

I am shipwrecked as they would say

Because I chose to walk away

That was cool, thanks for sharing. I look forward to reading your full story if you get a chance to write it.

That was cool, thanks for sharing. I look forward to reading your full story if you get a chance to write it.