Goodbye Jesus

More Leaving The Fold Drama

kclark

This is probably the third time I've posted about me leaving the church I've been a musician at for 8 years (to catch up read "Told My Pastor I'm Quitting Today") and you guys are probably sick of it, but I have no else to really open up to except my boyfriend, who doesn't always see eye to eye with me on this stuff. So you guys are my online therapists lol.

Anyway, since I've told the pastor I'm leaving the church at the end of the year, I've pretty much been a bundle of mixed emotions--fear, relief, guilt, etc. Usually these feelings pass after I leave church and go on with my week and remind myself why I don't believe and why I'm quitting. But as soon as I go to rehearsal and play through a service, all those feelings float back up to the surface. Feelings made even worse today when the pastor decided to call me up and announce my depature. I had to look at the floor as everyone gasped when he broke the news, and looked away from the preacher's wife, also the minister of music, as she teared up a little.

I guess I should've expected the announcement, but now they're planning a big dinner for my last Sunday and giving a love offering to send me off. I went back home and filled in the BF, who said I should be ashamed because the preacher and his wife have been good to me, and, like a few others on Ex-Christian, said I should just stay and take the money . To which I gave my usual spiel about me no longer believing and not considering it ministry anymore etc. Then he said something along the lines of "Ninety percent of the people in church are just there to see what's going on (I think he meant entertained/social interaction). The preacher probably doesn't believe the shit he says."