Goodbye Jesus

Atheist Men Vs. Atheist Women

roadrunner

I was listening to a podcast today and a guest psychologist suggested that most women come to atheism as a result of moral inconsistencies. Ex. god killing babies so they don't want to worship a tyrant. Because he didn't site a main reason for males I assume that males arrive for different reason. Im not really interested in the latter since Ive been a male for 30 years but am interested to hear if people agree with the guest speakers reasoning for women. Those of you that know my story probably can piece together why Im bringing this up.zDuivel7.gif .

Okay before we dive in . . .

Bad: If you are a woman then you X

Good: Studies comparing one population with another found a trend X.

I'm not an expert on male vs. female brains but from what little I have heard there are different trends. Maybe the guest psychologist has data supporting his or her conclusion. I would like to hear more. I did not come to atheism due to God's immorality. For me it came about because I realized how stupid I had been in my faith. I couldn't tell you if I am the trend for men or an outlier.

I became an atheist because I found that religion could be made up and could fool billions of people and that there were valid reasons to make it up (like men gaining power because they "talked to god", control the masses, ect.). Could became probably was and, well, here I am! The immorality of it all only confirmed my non belief after the fact.

For me it was the teachings on homosexuality that led me to question all the teachings - not just moral ones, all of them. It wasn't about not wanting to worship a homophobic god, it was just the issue that felt obviously wrong and led me to question (and eventually disbelieve) the others. So I'm not quite with the rest of the atheist women there, but I'm quite used to being the weirdo!