Goodbye Jesus

Christanity Almost Killed Me. Literally.

Monet

What happened to me still feels surreal but i have to share my story with you all. Hopefully it will help at least one person.

I'm a 33 year old man and although i went to catholic school i've been an atheist since 2nd grade. I work as a counselor / advocate for people with disabilities and have one myself. I only have one arm and wear a prosthetic. I've been married for 5 years and been with my wife for 12 years total but we're currently going through a very expensive divorce. I have a beautiful little 4 year old girl who i love more than anything in the world. My 32 year old wife doesn't belive in god but wouldn't dare tell her extremely religious family, most notably her mom. Before we got engaged my wife and i talked very very specifically about the future. career paths, children, worst case scenereios etc. and we eventually agreed on everything including NOT raising our kids to believe in the silly idea of god and jesus.

========

Soon after my daughter was born, my wife and her mom became the best of friends. she started allowing her mom to take on MY role as a husband and father by allowing her mom to make decisions for our household, sneaking my daughter off to church and church activities while telling me they were out to eat or at the park. Last july, after an incident where my daughter cried and yelled at me for saying god isn't real because grandma says he is and she wouldn't lie to her, i put my foot down and told my wife thats enough. no more church anything period.