Goodbye Jesus

Which came first-- the disbelief or the leaving church?

Orbit

@wellnamed and I were discussing this in the car today. Which came first for you: leaving the church or "leaving" the xtian beliefs?

I left the church long before I stopped believing.

3 minutes ago, disillusioned said:

I left the church long before I stopped believing.

If it's ok to ask, why did you leave the church? Was it the people being hypocrites (we were talking about that too) or just "church is boring" (which is how I was)?

I always had major doubts, but I generally just kept them to myself. Continued going to church because I liked to sing, plus for the social aspect. Eventually I decided to just stop attending altogether.

• Super Moderator

My disbelief finally gelled as I studied Revelation at Moody. I had no interest in pretending after that so I naturally stopped going to church. There were nice people at my church and the pastor was educated and smart and a friend, but the whole thing was predicated on a lie, so bye bye.

I was plagued with doubts and questions that the bishops of the church couldn't adequately answer. My church that I was assistant pastor at shut down because it was small with mostly older people who had died off. I took the opportunity for a good excuse and stopped going until I could get all the spiritual mess I had going on in my head straightened out. That never happened and I stopped believing a few years later.

DB

27 minutes ago, florduh said:

My disbelief finally gelled as I studied Revelation at Moody. I had no interest in pretending after that so I naturally stopped going to church. There were nice people at my church and the pastor was educated and smart and a friend, but the whole thing was predicated on a lie, so bye bye.