Goodbye Jesus

Christian counselor vs. not

Mothernature

I spoke briefly with a counselor about my family situation and she actually recommended that I may be better off to go for marriage counselling with my husband to a Christian counselor. She thought they are better trained in what his beliefs would be and so would be better able to assist. I believe if the counselors are registered they have to be neutral and would not try to sway either in either direction. Any experiences with this? I am not concerned that I could be swayed back into Christianity as I know too much to go back and my husband is too brainwashed to even hope that he would ever convert, so I am wondering if it actually would be better to go the Christian counselor route.

• Super Moderator

I have no experience in this area. All I can tell you is I wouldn't trust a Christian car mechanic, much less a counselor. But who knows - it all depends on the individual. It's just that their track record indicates they have only one priority, the religion.

• Like 3

22 minutes ago, Mothernature said:

I spoke briefly with a counselor about my family situation and she actually recommended that I may be better off to go for marriage counselling with my husband to a Christian counselor. She thought they are better trained in what his beliefs would be and so would be better able to assist. I believe if the counselors are registered they have to be neutral and would not try to sway either in either direction. Any experiences with this? I am not concerned that I could be swayed back into Christianity as I know too much to go back and my husband is too brainwashed to even hope that he would ever convert, so I am wondering if it actually would be better to go the Christian counselor route.

I have no experience in this, but I do have some opinions - they should be taken as such.