Goodbye Jesus

former Bible student

ShellyD99

Hi. I'm looking for other people who are interested in skepticism, atheism, apologetics and Christianity. I grew up in the Lutheran church. In my early 20s I earned a degree in biblical studies, but that experience led to my deconversion. It's a strange analogy, but I think of it like someone who loved hot dogs finding out exactly how they are made. Now I don't ever want to eat another hot dog. Goofy, I know. But I'm still fascinated by the big questions, and how and why people believe.

Thanks for reading.

• Like 7

Keeping this site online isn't free, so we need your support! Make a one-time donation or choose one of the recurrent patron options by clicking here.

Welcome ShellyD99

Well you've come to the right place. Many of us here are interested in discussing those topics. Feel free to browse the forums for topics that interest you and join them, or start your own topic of interest. 

• Super Moderator

Welcome, Shell.  I've been known to use some pretty goofy analogies myself, such as being told that 2Lx2W is the only formula you'll ever need and then getting a test with trapezoids on it.  Or a damn rhombus.

• Haha 1

I know how hot dogs are made,  and I still like them...

Welcome. You'll find lots of discussions those lines going on. Jump in,  or start a new one. Glad you're here. 

Hi and welcome Shelly...nice to meet you :)

2 hours ago, ShellyD99 said:

. . . I earned a degree in biblical studies, but that experience led to my deconversion. It's a strange analogy, but I think of it like someone who loved hot dogs finding out exactly how they are made.

Great analogy!  And my experience exactly.

Welcome to X-Xian! I don't have a degree in bible studies but I've read the bible a few times and studied it furiously back in the day, which probably contributed greatly to my deconversion!

• Like 1

3 hours ago, ShellyD99 said: