Goodbye Jesus

What Do You Tell People?

Guest Emerson

Guest Emerson

Have you ever lied about still being a christian? What do you tell people who are interested in "saving souls"?

As a college student, I get people walking up to me all the time and telling me about their religion and christianity mostly. One time at work, I lied and said I was a christian to a customer who is a christian.

He said, "you look so happy." He then proceeded to go on and tell me how that made me different from the people there. Um okay, am I supposed to look unhappy at work? No, that would be bad for business. And anyway I choose to be happy without religion.

So anyway, I don't want to lie but sometimes I still find myself doing it to fit in in certain places and with people who are religious, like if I can get ahead somewhere then I'll lie about it. And its so easy, people believe me and everything. I know how to lie pretty well and look people in the eye and have them believe me. I guess it wouldn't be hard for me to be an actress. lol.

So I want to know your experiences, have you ever lied about still being a christian? What do you tell people when you are confronted about your beliefs? Are you ever "hunted" by certain groups or certain people who are trying to "save" your soul?

I tend not to talk about religion with people I don't know. If someone accuses me of being a Christian ("I'm glad you're such a good Christian woman") or asks me if I am one ("Which church do you go to?"), I just tell them I'm not a Christian. If they pester me, I will admit to being a Pagan, but I'm reluctant to admit being Wiccan around here. It's a very christian area and they still burn my kind around here.

The closest I've come to lying about it was at big family gatherings where my 82-year-old devoutly-baptist grandmother-in-law was saying a prayer for everyone. I bowed my head and rolled my eyes and thought about other things.

It's a difficult issue.