Goodbye Jesus

What Is It With Atheists And Buddah

Freed

It's like a lot of them just swapped Jesus Christ for Buddah?

This is not me disrespecting them. I don't get it is all. I never cared one way or another about that dude. Lots of Atheists I know idolize him. Why??? 

I’m not an expert on Buddhism by any means but it certainly seems possible that somebody could be an atheist and a Buddhist both.  Keeping in mind that there are several “schools” of Buddhism, some of which incorporate supernatural concepts more than others.  And there is a growth in “Western” secular Buddhism that appeals to me as a “non-spiritual” type.  

If “idolize” means to treat as an infallible godlike figure, I wouldn’t recommend that.  If it means to hold in awe and respect, there are some historical figures who probably are worthy of that.

I can certainly see the appeal of aspects of Buddhism.   I don’t know much about the Buddha himself and am not that interested in him personally, to be honest, but there are ideas and practices that bear his name and which I think are worth taking on board.  

I don’t think it’s a good idea to revere any human - living or dead - as a deity, but there have been many thinkers and teachers who imparted wisdom that we can profit from.  Prompted by @freshstart, I’ve been reading the book “Why Buddhism is True”.  Despite the title, it’s not teaching a religion or supernatural beliefs.  It’s mostly about meditation, so far.

10 hours ago, Freed said:

This is not me disrespecting them. I don't get it is all. I never cared one way or another about that dude. Lots of Atheists I know idolize him. Why??? 

Buddhism isnt really about worshiping the chubby little guy as a god. He just was enlightened one day and wrote about it and people ran with it. I'm sure RNP can more fully explain it. 

I like the more distilled Jnana Yoga, Zen, or Advaita, or non-duality, non-dual awareness, self-inquiry. 

• Like 2

Can you find enlightenment through reason? Logic?