Goodbye Jesus

Does Anyone Miss Worship Music?

Abmin9

I'm a musician. My username is not a misspelling of "admin" but rather Abmin9 or A flat minor 9 (as in the chord). Anyway, I like Casting Crowns, Israel & New Breed, and Hyperstatic Union. I like them for the music. So, out of curiosity, I'd like to know how many of you still listen to those groups and encourage any other thoughts on the subject you'd like to share.

Thanks in advance!

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Citsonga

• Vomit Comet

• OpheliaGinger

• Abmin9

I'm sure in terms of instrumental talent, many Christian groups are highly talented. There are also some great lyricists who write creative lyrics.

But I can't get into the subject matter any longer. The premises upon which most Christian music is based are foundations I no longer accept and stand upon.

To me, it is foolish to rely upon an imaginary Being for comfort and to expect that Being to do anything in your life.

I didn't listen to that shit when I was a Christian.

Same here. I was never discouraged from listening to secular music and so there was never a need to turn to christian music.

Me neither.

When I was a kid I listened to a christian rock band, though I think it was mostly because the only rock albums I owned were by them.

Since then, I typically shun worship music. I have some albums by a few bands that occasionally wax religious (some more often than others), but I vastly prefer my music to remain secular (though, I'll admit to a soft-spot for a few thoroughly anti-theistic tunes :P ).

I didn't like most of it then and I certainly won't listen to such vileness today.

I didn't like most of it then and I certainly won't listen to such vileness today.

How many ways are there to say "god is so freakin' wonderful"?

No Christian rock band could ever match Rob Zombie.