Goodbye Jesus

Bi-polarity

Emme

Hi everybody. It's been a while.

Sorry to just burst in unannounced with questions, but I need u guys right now.

I've been given a diagnosis: Bipolar.

I'm trying to cope and keep coming back to religion and black-white thoughts.

Does anybody here have any experience you would like to share. I feel Christianity is connected to my disorder, but I can't clarify better.

Any takers?

Emme

Yeah, I got experience dealing with a kid that has it. Bipolar is nothing to be afraid of. It can be irritating going through cycles of depression and euphoria. Read up on it as much as you can on the internet. There are drugs out there that can help, such as Abilify. Some people take Abilify and an antidepressant but I think that's a bit too much medication but I am no doctor. Many people go through life with it and do not know it. I am not crazy about any kind of medication. A person with self-determination to succeed in life may not need medication. Everyone with bipolar behaves differently.

Oh boy Emme, do I ever understand.

I, too, have bipolar. And when I was diagnosed in February last year, I started questioning what was actually ME, and what was BIPOLAR.

Now, from my own experiences, and the experiences of my bipolar friends, there is one thing I have learned: If you're swinging back and forth between religion and non-belief, those awesome religious experiences that keep pulling you back are bipolar. Those visions, euphoria, the closeness you feel to God, the little messages you believe he is giving you through every day things- trust me on this. It's not god. You're not being enlightened. It's the gremlin in your mind, called bipolar, having some fun. And they're bloody mischevious gremlins, too. But that's all they are.