Goodbye Jesus

What's Wrong With The West?

Legion

My hope in this opening post is to initiate a dialogue by asking a set of questions and offering some of my answers to them. The subject matter herein is complex, and I am not a sociological expert by any stretch of the imagination, but it seems to me that this sort of dialogue is relevant to us in many ways. So then, let me proceed to ask these questions and offer my perspective on some possible answers.

Is Western culture currently experiencing a problem?

If so, what might this problem be, and why has it arisen?

I believe the West is, in fact, experiencing a problem. Rather than point out what I believe are the various symptoms of the problem, I'd like to offer what I think is the nature of the problem and some of the proximate causes of it. Others might make a diagnosis using different language (e.g. artistic, spiritual) however I've chosen what is basically psychological language.

I suspect that a confluence of events has brought the West to a point of existential crisis. In an individual, these crises are characterized by a person questioning the foundations of their life. They ask whether their life has any meaning, purpose or value.

I believe this current crisis was, in part, precipitated by some discoveries of leading Western thinkers since the Enlightenment which have effectively severed our percieved connection with what is good and true in the world. I think many of these ideas coalesced roughly around the beginning of the 20th century. Let me try to briefy list some of the ideas arising in philosophy, mathematics, and science which I think have contributed.

- Descartes bolstered solipsism to absurd extremes with a proportionately absurd skepticism.

- Hume brought imperatives themselves into doubt by highlighting a seemingly insurmountable gap between prescriptive and normative statements.

- Contemporary philosophers often lament postmodernism even while sometimes engaging in it.