Goodbye Jesus

Love Your Enemy

Guest Davka

Guest Davka

OK, I'm a newb on this forum, just wandering through, but I've noticed a certain level of - animosity? Frustration?

Aw, Hell, let's just cut to the chase and face it: some of y'all really, really hate Christians.

That's kind of dumb, don't you think? First of all, when you invest that much emotion into something or someone, you are giving them a degree of control over you. I thought the whole point of leaving Christianity behind was to escape control, not to encourage it. But nooooo, y'all gotta keep the rage fires burning, letting the very existance of Christians burn a hole right through your stomach lining.

And even if you don't like the church or its teachings (no surprise there), you gotta admit - some of the things Jesus taught (or that are attributed to him) are dean on. Like "love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you." That's a very good way for humans to treat each other, and it beats the crap out of the alternative - that way lies war and destruction. Christians are pretty crappy at actually applying this teaching, but that's no excuse for not trying, regardless of what you believe.

So get over it already. People believe weird stuff, and try to get other people to believe it too. That's life, deal with it. People are flawed. So what? You're going to let a bunch of flawed people control your emotional well-being? Might as well just go back to being a fundy, silly rabbi!

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Ouroboros

• florduh

• chefranden

• buffettphan

• Super Moderator

Thanks for educating us. Sorry if we don't measure up, but we're working on it!

I hope you find the site you're looking for, because it ain't this one.

Guest Davka
Thanks for educating us.

If I thought you were educable, I'd give it a shot. But since you don't give a rat's, please die now. Thank you.

Sorry if we don't measure up, but we're working on it!